The Linnels is located two miles south of Hexham and three miles from Corbridge on the eastern edge of Hexhamshire.
The Linnels is understood to have been originally constructed in 1897 having originally been a coaching inn. This house has been admired by many for its beauty, quality, prestige and unique setting. The grounds were once admired, as was the house, by Wainwright on one of his walks, when he described the view from the bridge in "A Pennine Journey" (1938). The Linnel ponies, a mountain and moorland breed of Fell ponies, originated at the Linnels Stud and still thrives under the auspices of the present Charlton family.
Historically, Pevsner also refers to the property, when in the mid 17th century a hurst-frame mill was constructed. This mill encapsulates the feel for the past; with now redundant working parts, the machinery is still in situ. The race and weir have survived and are surrounded by beautiful walkways.