The History

The Linnels is located two miles south of Hexham and three miles from Corbridge  on the eastern edge of Hexhamshire .

The Linnels is understood to have been constructed in 1897 having originally been a coaching inn. This house has been admired by many for its beauty, quality, prestige and unique setting. The grounds were once admired, as was the house, by Wainwright on one of his walks, when he described the view from the bridge in “A Pennine Journey” (1938). The Linnel ponies, a mountain and moorland breed of Fell ponies, originated at the Linnels Stud and still thrives under the auspices of the present Charlton family.

Historically, Pevsner also refers to the property, when in the mid 17th century a hurst-frame mill was constructed. This mill encapsulates the feel for the past; with now redundant working parts, the machinery is still in situ. The race and weir have survived and are surrounded by beautiful walkways.

The pathways lead around and down to Devil’s Water, where there are views over the historic Linnels Bridge, which originally dates from 1581 and was built by Thomas Errington, t was subsequently rebuilt in 1698. The original inscription “God preserve Umforia Erington Belldete the bridge of Lyme and stone 1581” can be read on a plaque on the bridge.

The Linnels has a fascinating history. It is understood to be one of the first private houses in the world to benefit from electricity after it was first proven  by the Armstrong family at Cragside. The original turbine and workings are still in place in the mill.

The Victorian Coach House has been adapted, altering the old tack room into a ground floor entrance, well equipped kitchen and dining area and connects to the first floor where there are 3 bedrooms and a beautiful sitting room set into the loft. The bedrooms have one en-suite shower room as well as the main bathroom. The Coach House is self contained with its own oil-fired central heating.